Te Ahu o te Reo Māori — Fostering education in te Reo Māori EN

Mon 16 December 19

logo for Te Ahu o te Reo Māori

Minister Davis has announced that Te Ahu o te Reo Māori will continue to be delivered through the first half of 2020. 

The aim of Te Ahu o te Reo Māori is to grow and strengthen an education workforce that can integrate te reo Māori into the learning of all ākonga and students in Aotearoa, New Zealand. It also provides opportunities for te reo Māori to be normalised, and Māori identity and culture, to be shared and embraced.


In 2020, Te Ahu o te Reo Māori will be offered in these four regions: Ngāi Tahu (South Island), Tainui (Waikato), Te Taiuru (Taranaki-Whanganui), Te Tonga (Bulls–Wellington). These regions have been selected because the Māori population is projected to increase by at least 20 percent by 2023.


The programme content includes local dialect, grammar, curriculum, language revitalisation and language use. Haramai tētahi āhua!


Find out more about Te Ahu o te Reo Māori here.